Temple Faculty Physicians is experiencing technical issues with phone lines. If you are experiencing an emergency, please visit your nearest emergency room. If you would like to schedule an appointment with your provider or have general questions or requests, please contact us by using myTempleHealth.

Lung Center

Alumni Updates — Winter 2022

Featured Fellows

Jeremy Abram Falk, MD (Class of 2005) is an Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, California. He has been the Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellowship Program Director since 2014 and is the Associate Director of the Lung Transplant Program. His research interests include Interstitial Lung Disease and Lung Transplantation.

Montserrat Diaz-Abad, MD (Class of 2007) is an Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore. She has been the Sleep Fellowship Program director since August 2012. She has been featured as one the Top Doctors in Sleep Medicine in Baltimore magazine in the year 2017 and 2019.

Nathaniel Gaeckle, MD (Class of 2017) is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota - Twin Cities in Minneapolis. His current research interests include respiratory aerosols and COPD.


Joseph Ramzy, MD (Class of 2019) welcomed his first son Nathaniel Ramzy on October 5, 2020.

Carlos Gutierrez, MD (Class of 2019) welcomed a son, Carlos Alberto Gutierrez III on March 1, 2021.

Dave Baumgarten, MD (Class of 2019) celebrated his son Matthew’s first birthday. Also pictured are his wife Sara and son Benjamin, age 4.

Graduating Fellows – largest class to date!

We would like to extend our congratulations to our graduating fellows and share our appreciation for their hard work, especially during the last 15 months of their training. This has been a particularly challenging year because of the pandemic, and they all rose to the occasion.

There are eleven fellows in the class of 2021, the largest fellowship class in the history of our program: Junad Chowdhury, Robert Marron, Zachariah Dorey-Stein, Randol Hooper, Catherine Myers, Roman Prosniak, Omar Sheriff, Maulin Patel, Steven Verga, Ibraheem Yousef, Matthew Zheng.

Read more in the Winter 2022 edition of the Pulmonary & Thoracic Medicine Newsletter for Temple Lung Center alumni: